Arnstorf – in the Centre of Lower Bavaria

The Arnstorf community is located in the centre of Lower Bavaria and has a population of approx. 7,000. It is ensconced between the vast grasslands in the floodplains of the Kollbach rivulet and the adjoining hilly landscape of Lower Bavaria.

The upper casle in ArnstorfThe lower castle of ArnstorfDie Pfarrkirche in ArnstorfDas Altarnstorfhaus

And it is very good to eat and live here. In and around Arnstorf there are many places to stop for a bite to eat: from traditional Bavarian taverns with beer gardens to chic bistros all the way to exclusive Italian restaurants.
Even economically, Arnstorf stands on a solid foundation: many industrial, service and handicraft enterprises have made Arnstorf their home, making it the second largest industrial base of the Rottal-Inn County. Excellent transport connections to the state road and motorway network (B20 and A92) make scenically and culturally attractive Arnstorf easy to reach and invite for a visit. Arnstorf offers many historical and unique sights which have left their distinctive mark on the community. There is some very interesting shopping, especially in the centre of town. Numerous specialist retailers offer an attractive selection of goods and services combined with excellent support.

History of the Arnstorf community

Origin of the name Arnstorf
Copper engraving of Arnstorf 18. centuryArnstorf was first mentioned in historic documents dating back to the year 1145. Around 1130/40, mention is made of a certain Wernhart de Arnsdorf. In 1145, a certain Roudeger de Arnesdorf is mentioned as a witness in a barter transaction between the Aldersbach Monastery and Bishop Heinrich of Regensburg. It may therefore be presumed that the "person who gave Arnstorf its name was a member of the clan found mainly in the Isen area around the 8th and 9th Century whose descendants include Archbishop Arn of Salzburg ". The determinative element of Arnstorf’s name is therefore the personal name Arn. The primary word "dorf" refers to the forest clearing period between the 8th and 11th Century during which numerous places with a "dorf" in their name emerged, which would correlate with the time during which said bishop lived. Arnstorf’s name therefore implies that this settlement used to be the village of Arn.

The lower court district of Arnstorf is raised to the status of market community
To replenish the state treasury, local sovereigns would bestow special rights upon particularly deserving noblemen. The Arnstorf House of Closen, in their capacity as lords of the lower court district, were both judges and landlords. They were the "leadership", which they exercised over the country and people within the range of their property. In 1419, Arnstorf becomes a market community. Elevation to the status of market community in 1419, subject to the consent of the Eggenfelden and Pfarrkirchen market communities, also implied the right to hold annual fairs. Bestowal of the right to hold markets was the economic basis for market activities, which resulted in mercantile and commercial activities of the community’s population.

The market community’s coat of arms
Old coat of armsBarely a hundred years later, 1509, saw the emergence of the coat of arms of the Arnstorf market community: an arm brandishing a sabre, which is an old empirical symbol for market rights and market peace. Description of the current coat of arms: "An arm dressed in alternating colours, breaking out of the left side of a split shield in black and gold, holding a silver sword with a golden handle". The colours are those of the coat of arms of the House of Closen.

The Noble House of Closen and its successors
Coat of arms of the Noble House of ClosenFrom the very beginning, the market community was owned by the Noble House of Closen, who were bestowed a count’s coronet in 1766. The House of Closen and its successors enjoyed a large measure of privileges. As landlords, they possessed both the socage right and the sole hunting and fishing right. It was they who authorised the Guild and Handicrafts Code. They were also vested with the right of patronage, which included the right to present their parish priest to the bishop, the right to make a first recommendation in all shareholder liaison matters, and the right to low ecclesiastic offices. When the House of Closen in Arnstorf became extinct in the late 18th Century, the property went to the Counts of Deym through marriage in 1847.

The Parish Church
Parish Church of ArnstorfArnstorf was first mentioned as a parish in 1253. The current church, an example of the Late Gothic style, was built in the 15th Century. The Gothic interior was later augmented by a Baroque interior.
 
 

The Snow Chapel
The Snow ChapelEven around the time of the Thirty Years’ War, there was a column bearing a cross in the later location of the chapel of "Our Lady of the Snow", where Arnstorf citizens would entrust their requests to the intercession of St. Mary. The year of construction and the builder of the Snow Chapel are unknown. However, based on capital borrowed from the chapel fund, the time of construction can be roughly calculated as between 1723 and 1730.
 
 

Handicraft and Trade
The elevation to market community status in 1419 and the accompanying transfer of the annual fairs from Hainberg to Arnstorf heralded an economic upward trend. Resident craftsmen of identical trades joined into brotherhoods from which the guilds would later emerge. The church chronicles of the Arnstorf Parish of 1515 mention three brotherhoods: the brotherhoods of clothiers, leather-workers and shoemakers. Within these brotherhoods, an active religious life emerged which involved the entire family of the craftsman, at anniversaries, the four Quatember days, and at funerals.

Government Institutions

The Local Court
When, as a result of the law of 4 June 1848, the landlords’ patrimonial jurisdiction was transferred to the government, the "judge house, a residential house with an office" in Arnstorf lost its function as a court house. The fools’ house, newly erected in the 18th Century, where wrongdoers were put on show for punishment, had also become obsolete. Following a decision by the government of Lower Bavaria of 26 August 1849, Arnstorf was designated as venue for a local court. In 1858 the market community petitioned the king for a new local court. This request was refused at the time. It was not until 1861 that a local court was approved for Arnstorf.

The Post Station
Before the establishment of the government postal service, messengers on foot or on horseback would deliver letters, newspapers, money bags and packages to their destinations. These errands were a part of the Arnstorf citizen’s obligations during the time of the manorial system. Arnstorf had only one drop-off point at that time – a private messenger would walk every day to the post office in Simbach. After transfer of the postal service into state administration in the Kingdom in Bavaria in 1808, Arnstorf’s citizens were by 1812 striving for a postal expedition with postal stable. In 1863, trips by horse-drawn wagon and messenger trips were approved.

Persons of Outstanding Merit

Source: Ludwig Kitzinger "Arnstorf Throughout the Times"

Arnstorf - im Zentrum von Niederbayern

Der Markt Arnstorf liegt im Zentrum Niederbayerns und hat ca.7000 Einwohner. Umgeben zum einen von den weiten Wiesenlandschaften in den Talauen den Flüßchens Kollbach, zum anderen von der angrenzenden niederbayerischen Hügellandschaft.

Das Obere Schloss in ArnstorfDas Untere Schloss in ArnstorfDie Pfarrkirche in ArnstorfDas Altarnstorfhaus

Auch für das leibliche Wohl ist gesorgt. In und um Arnstorf gibt es Einkehrmöglichkeiten in Gaststätten, sei es das typisch bayerische Wirtshaus mit Biergarten, das moderne Bistro oder das exklusive italienische Restaurant.
Auch wirtschaftlich steht Arnstorf auf gutem Fundament: Viele Industrie-, Dienstleistungs- und Handwerksbetriebe haben sich hier angesiedelt, so daß Arnstorf zum zweitgrößten Industriestandort des Landkreises Rottal-Inn geworden ist. Durch die gute Verkehrsanbindung an das Bundesstraßen- und Autobahnnetz (B20 und A92), ist das landschaftlich und kulturell reizvolle Arnstorf gut zu erreichen und lädt zu einem Besuch ein. Es gibt viele, das Ortsbild prägende, historische und im Detail einmalige Sehenswürdigkeiten. Attraktive Einkaufsmöglichkeiten befinden sich vor allem im Ortskern. Viele Fachgeschäfte bieten Ihnen eine attraktive Auswahl an Waren und Dienstleistungen mit perfektem Service.

Geschichte des Markts Arnstorf

Der Ortsname Arnstorf
Kupferstich des Marktes Arnstorf 18. JahrhundertArnstorf wurde erstmalig 1145 urkundlich erwähnt. Um 1130/40 ist ein Wernhart de Arnsdorf genannt. 1145 tritt ein Roudeger de Arnesdorf als Zeuge in einem Tauschgeschäft des Klosters Aldersbach mit Bischof Heinrich von Regensburg auf. Es darf angenommen werden, daß der "Namengeber von Arnstorf jener im 8. und 9. Jahrhundert besonders um Isen auftretenden Sippe angehörte, aus der der Erzbischof Arn von Salzburg ist". Das Bestimmungswort des Ortsnamens ist demnach der Personenname Arn. Das Grundwort "dorf" weist auf die Rodungsperiode vom 8. bis zum 11. Jahrhundert zurück, in der zahlreiche "dorf"-Orte entstanden, womit ein zeitlicher Zusammenhang mit jenem Bischof gegeben wäre. Der Name des Ortes läßt demnach darauf schließen, daß es sich bei dieser Siedlung um das Dorf Arn handelt.

Die Hofmark Arnstorf wird zum Markt erhoben
Um die Staatskasse zu füllen, stattete der Landesherr verdienstvolle Adelige mit besonderen Rechten aus. Die Arnstorfer Closen waren als Hofmarksherren Richter und Grundherren. Sie waren die "Herrschaft" und übten diese über Land und Leute ihres Besitzbereiches aus. 1419 wird Arnstorf Markt. Mit der Markterhebung von 1419 war mit Zustimmung der Märkte Eggenfelden und Pfarrkirchen das Recht zur Abhaltung von Jahrmärkten verbunden. Mit der Verleihung des Marktrechtes war die wirtschaftliche Grundlage für den Markt gegeben. Die Folge war eine kaufmännisch-gewerbliche Betätigung der Einwohner.

Das Marktwappen
Altes Marktwappen von ArnstorfKnappe hundert Jahre später, 1509 kennt man schon das Arnstorfer Marktwappen, ein säbelschwingender Arm, der ein altes Reichssymbol für Marktfrieden sein soll. Die Beschreibung des jetzigen Wappens lautet: "In von Schwarz und Gold gespaltenem Schild ein von links vorbrechender, in verwechselten Farben gekleideter Arm, ein silbernes Schwert mit goldenem Griff haltend". Die Farben sind diejenigen des Wappens des Closen-Geschlechts.

Das Adelsgeschlecht der Closen und deren Nachfolger
Das Wappen der ClosenDer Markt war von Beginn an in Besitz der Adelsfamilie Closen, die 1766 die Grafenkrone erhielten. Die Closen und Ihre Nachfolger besaßen ein hohes Maß an Vorrechten. Als Grundherren besaßen sie das Scharwerksrecht sowie das alleinige Jagd- und Fischereirecht. Sie genehmigten die Zunft- und Handwerksordnung. Sie waren ausgestatten mit dem Patronatsrecht. Es schließt das Präsentationsrecht, das Vorschlagsrecht, auf niedere Kirchenämter ein. Als das Geschlecht der Closen in Arnstorf Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts ausstarb, gingen die Güter durch Verehelichung 1847 auf die Grafen von Deym über.

Die Pfarrkirche
Die Pfarrkirche des Markts ArnstorfArnstorf wird 1253 erstmals als Pfarrei genannt. Die jetzige Kirche wurde im 15. Jahrhundert im spätgotischen Stil erbaut. Der gotischen Einrichtung folgte eine barocke Ausstattung.
 
 

Die Schneekapelle
Die SchneekapelleSchon um die Zeit des 30jährigen Krieges stand an der Stelle, wo später die Kapelle "Maria Schnee" erbaut wurde, eine Kreuzsäule, bei der Arnstorfer ihre Anliegen der Fürbitten Mariens anvertrauten. Baujahr und Baumeister der Schneekapelle sind unbekannt. Die ungefähre Bauzeit läßt sich aufgrund des ausgeliehenen Kapitals aus der Kapellenstiftung, auf die Zeit zwischen 1723 und 1730 errechnen.
 
 

Handwerk und Gewerbe
Mit der Markterhebung 1419 und der damit verbundenen Verlegung der Jahrmärkte von Hainberg nach Arnstorf, setzte eine wirtschaftliche Aufwärtsentwicklung ein. Die ansässigen Handwerker gleichen Berufes schlossen sich zu Bruderschaften zusammen, aus denen die Zünfte hervorgingen. In dem Stiftbüchel der Pfarrei Arnstorf aus dem Jahr 1515 sind drei Bruderschaften genannt: die Bruderschaft der Tuchmacher, der Lederer und Schuhmacher. Darin entwickelte sich ein reges religiöses Leben, an dem sich die gesamte Familie des Handwerkers beteiligte, an den Jahrtagen, an den vier Quatembertagen und an Begräbnissen.

Staatliche Einrichtungen

Das Amtsgericht
Als durch das Gesetz vom 4.Juni 1848 die gutsherrliche Patrimonialgerichtsbarkeit auf den Staat überging, verlor auch das "Amtshaus, ein Wohnhaus mit Amtsstube", zu Arnstorf seine Bedeutung als Gerichtshaus. Das im 18. Jahrhundert neuerrichtete Narrenhäusel, wo die Übertäter strafweise zur Schau gestellt wurden, hatte auch ausgedient. Nach einer Entschl. der Regierung von Ndb. vom 26.August 1849 wurde Arnstorf als Sitz eines Landgerichts vorgesehen. 1858 übergab der Markt an den König ein Gesuch über die Errichtung des neuen Landgerichtes. Dies wurde jedoch abgelehnt. Erst 1861 wurde für Arnstorf ein Landgericht genehmigt.

Die Post
Bevor die staatliche Post eingerichtet wurde, beförderten Boten zu Fuß oder zu Pferd Briefe, Zeitungen, Geldsäcke und Pakete an ihren Bestimmungsort. Zu diesen Botengängen waren die Arnstorfer Bürger zur Zeit der Grundherrschaft verpflichtet. In Arnstorf existierte nur eine Ablagestelle - täglich ging ein privater Fußbote nach Simbach zum Postamt. Nachden im Königreich Bayern 1808 die Post in staatliche Verwaltung übergegangen war, strebten Arnstorfer Bürger 1812 eine Postexpedition mit Poststall an. 1863 wurden Stellwagenfahrten und Botenfahrten genehmigt.

Verdiente Persönlichkeiten

  • Joseph Bill Komponist 1830 - 1901
  • Franz Dambeck Professor 1903 - 1974
  • Dr. Josef Hauber Arzt um 1900
  • Max Kanzlsperger Komponist 1886 - 1963
  • Kilian I.Weybeck Abt 1503 - 1534
  • Erhard Kutschenreuter Komponist 1873 - 1946
  • Michael Pexenfelder Richter um 1600
  • Johann Pöllmann Maler um 1900
  • Georg Sailer Pfarrer 1852 - 1923
  • Josef Schachtner Ökonomierat und Abgeordneter um 1900
Quelle: Ludwig Kitzinger "Arnstorf im Wandel der Zeit"